Bill of Rights

Meet the Framers of the Constitution

The original states, except Rhode Island, collectively appointed 70 individuals to the Constitutional Convention. A number of these individuals did not accept or could not attend includes Richard Henry Lee, Patrick Henry, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, Samuel Adams and, John Hancock. In all, 55 delegates attended the Constitutional Convention sessions, but only 39 actually signed the Constitution. The delegates ranged in age from Jonathan Dayton, aged 26, to Benjamin Franklin, aged 81, who was so infirm that he had to be carried to sessions in a sedan chair.

For brief biographies of each of the Founding Fathers who were delegates to the Constitutional Convention, select the states below. (* indicates delegates who did not sign the Constitution)


  • Oliver Ellsworth (Elsworth)*
  • William. Samuel Johnson
  • Roger Sherman


  • Richard Bassett
  • Gunning Bedford, Jr.
  • Jacob Broom
  • John Dickinson
  • George Read


  • Abraham Baldwin
  • William Few
  • William Houston*
  • William L. Pierce*


  • Daniel Carroll
  • Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer
  • Luther Martin*
  • James McHenry
  • John F. Mercer*


  • Elbridge Gerry*
  • Nathaniel Gorham
  • Rufus King
  • Caleb Strong*

New Hampshire

  • Nicholas Gilman
  • John Langdon

New Jersey

  • David Brearly (Brearley)
  • Jonathan Dayton
  • William C. Houston*
  • William Livingston
  • William Paterson (Patterson)

New York

  • Alexander Hamilton
  • John Lansing, Jr.*
  • Robert Yates*

North Carolina

  • William. Blount
  • William R. Davie*
  • Alexander Martin*
  • Richard. Dobbs Spaight
  • Hugh Williamson


  • George Clymer
  • Thomas Fitzsimons (FitzSimons; Fitzsimmons)
  • Benjamin Franklin
  • Jared Ingersoll
  • Thomas Mifflin
  • Gouverneur Morris
  • Robert Morris
  • James Wilson

Rhode Island

Rhode Island did not send any delegates to the Constitutional Convention.

South Carolina

  • Pierce Butler
  • Charles Pinckney
  • Charles Cotesworth Pinckney
  • John Rutledge


  • John Blair
  • James Madison Jr.
  • George Mason*
  • James McClurg*
  • Edmund J. Randolph*
  • George Washington
  • George Wythe*

Everything Firearms, News, Crime, History, Politics and much more.